“Navratri represents how the negativity can be conquered by the inherent positive qualities in an individual so that one emerges as a Divine being.”
– Gurudev Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

‘Nava’ means ‘nine’ and ‘ratri’ is made up of ‘ra’ which also means ‘night’ and ‘tri’ meaning the three aspects of our life – body, mind and soul. There are three types of botherations or problems that may affect a person – physical, mental and spiritual. That which gives you relief from all these difficulties is ‘ratri’. ‘Ratri’ or night relieves you of misery and brings comfort. The night relaxes everybody; whether happy, unhappy or miserable, everybody goes to sleep. The nine-day period of Navratri is marked by a series of Yagna and Homas.

Significance of Navratri Homas

The celebrations Navratri celebrations are marked by a series of yagnas and homas to nullify all the misery, sorrow and pain, provide solace and bring in peace throughout the world. They are also meant to protect the environment, by instilling honor and reverence for Mother Earth.

Scientifically, the Homas have proven to purify the atmosphere, casting a healing effect on the mind and the body. Each day of this nine-day period has special implications and yagnas and homas are performed accordingly. 

Maha Ganapathi Homa
The rituals begin with an offering to Ganesha, the Lord of Auspiciousness. Ganapathi Homa is symbolic of removing the obstacles before initiating any new venture.

Navgraha Homa
Performed to propitiate Nine Planets, which influence various spheres of life. It nullifies the negative impact created by the Nav Grahas or Nine Planets.

Maha Rudra Homa
Rudra is the manifestation of Lord Shiva. It is one of the most ancient Homas from the text of Vedas. It is done for overall prosperity, health, happiness and removal of obstructions.

Maha Sudarshan Homa
Offered to Lord Sudarshana/Narayana, it signifies the removal of ignorance and illumination of a new life enriched with knowledge. Sudarshan signifies the discus of Lord Narayana. It is supposed to be the infallible weapon of Lord Narayana. It bestows clarity and helps remove blocks in the mind. 

Nava Chandi Homa
The day of Ashtami or the eighth day, marks the pinnacle of all homas of Navaratri. The Sri Nava Chandi Homa(Durga, Bhadrakali, Amba, Annapoorna devi, Sarvamangala, Bhairavi, Chandika or Chandi)

Rishi Homa
Offered to all enlightened masters who have walked on this planet.

Participate in the Navratri Homas at The Art of Living International Center from anywhere in the world. Sign up for the webcast – http://webcast.sumerusolutions.com/